Oatmeal Baked Goodness 2.0

oatmeal banana cookies.JPG

So I know I already posted about my newest banana oatmeal loaf obsession, but these little oatmeal cookies are not only quicker and simpler to make, but require a few less ingredients. In fact, you really only need 3 ingredients, which I guarantee are already sitting in your kitchen. The rest, in terms of spices and fillings, you can just improvise. These are perfect for Char and I when we’re on the go to and from classes, especially around 3pm when I feel myself crashing. And again, they contain 0 added sugar or any other unhealthy items, which is always a win in my book.

Char and I had a great week, as I came back from a girls trip Monday feeling VERY refreshed (although tired from the time change, obviously). But it felt great to be a normal adult for a few days, and not just a mom, as I feel on some days. She had a killer weekend with her dad though, who filled her social calendar more than ever, resulting in the entire household going to bed by 730pm Monday night 🙂

Oatmeal Banana Raisin Breakfast bites: makes about 12 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3 very ripe bananas (you could probably get away with 2, just use less oats)
  • 1  1/2 cups of oats
  • 1 egg
  • 2 table spoons each of nutmeg, cinnamon, and almond butter (or peanut butter)
  • optional: any other berries, nuts, or raisins you might want to add: I added a scoop of raisins and scoop of flax seeds (great for fiber/digestion). Next time, I plan to do mixed berries.

Instructions:

  1. Pre heat oven to 350F.
  2. In a mixing bowl mash bananas until they are pretty smooth (I use a potato masher, which works so quick). A few lumps are fine in the batter.
  3. Add egg, spices, and oats to the mixing bowl and continue to blend together.
  4. Add what ever additional items you may want, such as raisins, flax seeds, etc. Continue to stir all together.
  5. Grease muffin tin and scoop batter into pan.
  6. Bake for 15 mins and enjoy!!!

I see these being my 9pm guilty pleasure in the very near future 🙂

img_1150img_1214

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

