Breakfast Cake to Fuel the Baby…

oatmeal-loaf

I can’t believe it’s been over a month since my last post. I know I have really dropped the ball on this blog lately, especially during the crazy holiday months; it was certainly put on the back burner. Hopefully this new year brings new recipe inspirations and plenty of  blogging before the craziness that will be surfacing in June, when we add one more babe to this circus!

Like I’ve mentioned before, I’m totally not a sweets person, and crave mainly salty things. But dear lord, something has taken over me recently and I crave dessert nightly. I’ve been wanting to make some sort of sweeter breakfast loaf for months now, but never got around to it. However, with a big snowfall hitting NYC  yesterday, this was the perfect excuse to attempt baking. I still admit, I’m not a fan of baking. Who really likes to measure things? As you’ve probably noticed, most of my recipes are a “dash of this and that”. So I sort of winged this, but it turned out amazing, and the best thing is, you can make it as healthy or non healthy as you want. Now the goal will be to only have 1 slice a day (not the entire loaf).

Banana Cranberry Oatmeal Loaf: serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup of milk (I did half almond and half whole milk bc that’s all I had in my fridge- But I’d recommend just doing 1 cup of skim milk)
  • A few dashes of cinnamon & nutmeg
  • 1 cup of rolled oats
  • 1 scoop of peanut butter + 1 scoop of almond butter (then I sprinkled in a few dashes of my secret weapon, PB2 Powder; depending on how healthy you want to make this, adjust the peanut butter/substitutes ratio to your liking)
  • 2 bananas
  • 1 handful of berries (I only had cranberries but I think raisins or blueberries would be better- the more fruit the better, in my opinion)
  • 1/2 tea spoon of baking powder or soda
  • A few sprinkles of raw honey (I drizzled this on top once cooked, bc I forgot to add it to the mixture-so either way works)

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400F
  2. In a large mixing bowl mash bananas and peanut butter items together
  3. Add in oats, egg, milk and continue to mix well
  4. Sprinkle in spices and baking soda to the bowl; the consistency should be pretty liquid like
  5. Spray pan w/ pam and pour into pan (I used a meatloaf pan)
  6. Cook for about 25-30 mins (25 wasn’t enough for me, but your oven it might be- Just use the knife trick to check if it’s finished (when inserting a knife in the center of the loaf it should come out clean if fully cooked)
  7. Sprinkle honey over the loaf, or any last minute drizzles of spices & peanut butter
  8.  Optional to add slices of fresh fruit on top as well, such as bananas or berries

Here are a few photos of our little Char lately. I swear, dressed up in her winter gear, she looks 5 years old. Who is this toddler?? She’s become a little person, with a large personality. She’s developed her own little language, which for the life of us we can’t understand, but she certainly has full on conversations with herself. We are trying to soak up these next five months, not taking any day for granted, before her baby sister arrives.

20161231_141210img_5096

One thought on “Breakfast Cake to Fuel the Baby…

Leave a Reply

