Blackened Cod with Cauli Mash….

blackened cod 1

TGIF Everybody!!! I’m not going to lie, I’m really jazzed about this recipe! Maybe because Nick and I went into it with low expectations. I mean how great can you really make a white fish taste at home?? I went to the grocery store and was actually shocked at just how expensive white fish has become. Literally, bass, halibut, snapper, grouper etc were all at about 30$/lb. When did this happen? And then there was Tilapia, which was strangely only 8$/lb (the fact that it is so much cheaper, kind of alarms me?). So I settled in the middle, on a large piece of cod. Note to self, for two people, you truly don’t need a full pound, we had some leftovers.

What really made this dish great, was the cauliflower mash we placed underneath the fish. Honestly, I would eat this over true mash potatoes any day (not sure Nick would ever give up his true mashers though šŸ™‚ but he still really enjoyed them). We decidedĀ last minute to roast some tomatoes tossed in olive oil, basil, and fennel seeds. I think they were the perfect complimentĀ to the fish and mashers. PS. Did I mentioned this entire dish can be done in under 20 minutes!

It’s been a greatĀ week and Char and I had a lot of fun. She really is our greatest blessing, and sometimes I need to take a step back and realize just how lucky we truly are to be healthy and alive! We spent the week at the park on most days, attended her 2nd music class (she LOVES it by the way), and cooked up a storm in the kitchen each night. She’s getting much better at sitting up and has definitely figured out how to move unassisted (frog pose on her back), which makes me realizeĀ it’s not too much longer before she really keeps me on my toes!

Blackened Cod and Cauliflower Mash: serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 lb of cod (or any white fish)
  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 4 table spoons of sour cream (I suppose you could substitute with greek yogurt)
  • 3 table spoons of butter
  • salt & pepper
  • 4 garlic cloves finely chopped
  • Equal parts for the fish (1 tea spoon each): cumin, oregano, fennel seeds, paprika, chili powder, thyme, salt, pepper

 

Directions:

For the cauliflower mash (start with these first, as they take longer):

  1. Boil chopped cauliflower and garlic until soft.
  2. Drain, add sour cream, butter, salt, pepper and puree with a hand blender (PS If you don’t own one of these I highly recommend buying one. It’s probably our most used gadget in the kitchen).
For the Cod:Ā 
  1. Heavily dust both sides of the fish (fish should be pretty well covered with the spices), using your hand to lightly pat the spices into the surface of the fish (hard enough to get the spices to stick, but not so hard that you crush the fish).
  2. Over medium heat, melt 1 tsp of butter in a non-stick pan. Add fish, cooking for ~4-5 mins, or until spices are blackened and the fish has a nice crust. Turn over carefully (I use my hand on the uncooked side to help keep the fish together.) Fish like cod, halibut, and bass come apart very easily while cooking, so try to only turn them over once. Cook other side for 3-4 mins, or until the crust has formed

 

 

IMG_4333
First time on a swing and loving it!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

